Fraud on Amazon.co.uk: how I tried to buy Canon EOS 5D Mark II
by admin • June 28, 2012 • Internet • 2 Comments
£750 for Canon Digital SLR Camera EOS 5D Mark II cought my eye last time i was browsing Amazon.co.uk marketplace so I decided to get this great camera (real marketprice at £1300 for new). The seller - Toy and Gift Shop – had 1,265 ratings (4.8/5 stars over the past 12 months) so i thought its very safe to buy from him so i just ordered one. Because insufficient funds in credit card purchase was denied and i thought on monday to go the the bank and make lodgement for this – still with credit card this purchase of camera was secured and reserved at least for next few days (amazon.co.uk politelly sends warning what credit card was denied and i should do something about it). But after 12 hours order was canceled. That was weird. I went to Toy and Gift Shop and it was completelly empty! Before there were tons of products but now i saw no items at all! All right, maybe they’re doing upgrade or transfering products – think possitive. At 2AM i came back and found 3 products (different toys) and in the morning around 11AM few more were ready. No more Canon or Nikon cameras… Then i found my Canon Digital SLR Camera EOS 5D Mark I in another store – Toys of Essence UK – 4.9 stars over the past 12 months (52 ratings) – . Strange, looks very fishy (same cameras on that store, same prices) but maybe shit happends so i reserved camera again. And it was canceled after few hours. So i wrote to them to them asking what happening but never got answer. But most interesting thing and where fun happened was what i wrote to the email which they used instead of logo on amazon (Toy and Gift Shop ) – logo said what if there is problem please write to giftcamera@live.com . So i wrote to giftcamera@live.com and asked whats the story. Guy responded to me, asked what camera I’m interested in and wrote:
—————————-
My listing has ended.If you want to buy send me your full name and delivery address to have your order placed with Amazon.
Many thanks
—————————-
I said ok, i can place my order with amazon.co.uk, this is what iwant to do! So i sent him my details (of course fake ones) and got i got answer:
——————————
Hi again,
I was informed by Amazon that they send you all the payment and delivery informations. Search your inbox carefully and also check your bulk/spam/junk folder because it might have arrived there. Please let me know asap.
Thank you!
—————————
And then he send fake email looking like amazon.co.uk letter telling what i bought Canon EOS 5D Mark II, what its waiting to be sent and all i need to do is pay … Moneygram. Payment to:
E-mail Address: giftcamera@live.com
|
Ship from Address:
David Booty 15 Diamond Court Cherrington Road London w7 3jl United Kingdom |
Payment Address: Paul Chambers 56 Leoforos Argostoli 28736 Greece |
And the next letter came:
—————————
hello
that is the Amazon agent detached with the transaction,he not use the usual credit card payment , due the fact i can not receive international funds to credit.
You must go personal to a Money Gram agency or to a bank who has Money Gram agency and make the payment under Amazon agent name:
Paul Chambers
56 Leoforos
Argostoli
28736
Greece
According to amazon : moneygram service apply additional taxes when the money are sent for business , so to protect your from extra charges tell the agent you are sending the funds to a relative or a family friend.
Many Thanks
————————
Hello
I have already dispatched the package,but the package is on hold until you will make and send the payment informations to Amazon.
After that i will provide you also the tracking number.
Can you please tell me when are you able to make the payment?
waiting for your email asap.
————————
Then i asked if i could send my money to other people instead because there are international limit for sending money so i got family member names (not sure if they real):
————————
No problem sir,
Please send the money to:
-Paul Chambers
-Meghan Chambers
-Stephen Chambers
I wait an e-mail after you finish.
———————
And then i never heard from him… No no, i didnt sent money as this is real fraud but fraud on amazon.co.uk using good reputation store? How did he done that? How did he got access to that store? To 2 stores? He had to get one in order to upload products (Canon EOS 5D Mark II, Nikon D700, Nikon D800… ).
Today i saw Canon EOS 5D Mark II again on Holderness Laser Clinic - 4.9 stars over the past 12 months (263 ratings) – and already made a purchase. Also wrote to them about condition of this camera and details … Will see what happends next
—————–
Update (06/29/202)
So Holderness Laser Clinic is fraud. I wrote to their amazon.co.uk acount asking about this but no response.
There was the same image instead logo to which i wrote and guy again asked to Moneygram money to:
E-mail Address: goilevel@live.com
David Booty
15 Diamond Court
Cherrington Road
London
w7 3jl
United Kingdom
Ricardo Robledo
Afadou 200
Afadou
851 03
Greece
This one hiding under email E-mail Address: goilevel@live.com
Joseph Andrade. And Joseph Andrade has domain name goilevel.com registered so be careful!
I noticed these too. The account seems to have mysteriously disappeared.
Yep, thats real fraud. I real about this aroud and it seems what its big problem with amazon.co.uk. Just keep on thinking and NEVER transfer money moneygram or westernunion.